• Paul

by Published on 23rd March 2017 15:48  Number of Views: 1674 
    Article Preview

SQL is an extremely powerful programming language, and understanding SQL database schemas can often help immensely when creating queries on the database in question.

The particular feature that I want to discuss in this blog is foreign keys, and I intend to show their value by example, as if I have just been asked to create a report on a database (BlackBerry Messenger master.db from an IOS device) of which I have little knowledge. To help with this let's assume I have been asked to investigate file transfers between the user of this DB and his/her contacts and create a simple report to detail the transfers.

This example is, of course, a little contrived but it should, I hope, show the principles well.

First, what are Foreign Keys?

Simply put, foreign keys provide a way of ensuring that relationships between tables are valid. For example, in the case of a simple messaging database, they can ensure that for every message with a userID there is an entry for the userID in the users table.

e.g.:

Code:
    CREATE TABLE messages(
      time INTEGER PRIMARY KEY, 
      message TEXT,
      userID
    by Published on 14th November 2016 17:34  Number of Views: 6688 
    Article Preview

At a recent conference while talking about SQLite forensics I found out that some people still use non forensic tools to investigate databases with WAL files and were quite happy that they would not miss anything of importance. This is something I disagree with very, very, strongly and I hope in this article to explain the very basics of how WAL files work and show why you should not use non-forensic tools to examine SQLite databases.